On November 28, the CAT 2021 test will be held. On October 27, at 5:00 PM, IIM Ahmedabad (IIMA) will distribute the CAT 2021 admit card. Candidates may access their CAT test admit card by logging in with their CAT login ID and password at iimcat.ac.in.
Overview of the CAT 2021 exam
The CAT (Common Admission Test) or CAT test is the most widely recognized MBA entrance exam in India, with hundreds of B-Schools accepting it. In 2020, about 2 lakh 27 thousand applicants have enrolled for the CAT. The number of people who will take the CAT this year is expected to be about 2.5 lakhs. CAT 2021 will be held in 156 locations throughout the nation at Tata Consultancy Services' prometric ION Digital Zones. To be eligible to take the CAT 2021 Exam, one must complete the registration procedure before the deadline. The CAT 2021 Notification specifies a registration start date of August 4th and a registration deadline of September 22nd, 2021.
Other Important Information Regarding the CAT 2021 Notification
Candidates will be able to download the complete material from the revised CAT website as soon as the CAT 2021 notice is issued. The CAT 2021 Notification will provide the names of twenty IIMs as well as the registered programmes that a candidate can enroll in. Because this is a time-consuming procedure, it is recommended that you keep a notepad available when reading through the IIM list and write down your choices in order of preference so that you can complete the registration process promptly, which will begin a week after the notice is released.
Eligibility Criteria for CAT 2021
As part of the CAT 2021 Notification, the CAT 2021 Eligibility Criteria were issued. It looks a lot like the 2020 CAT Eligibility Criteria. The following are some of the specifics of the CAT 2021 Eligibility Criteria:
- To be eligible for the CAT Exam, a candidate must have completed at least a Bachelor's degree with a minimum of 50%. (for General Category, EWS, and for candidates from the NC-OBC caste). The necessary percentage for SC/ST and Differently Abled (DA) applicants is 45 percent.
- The University that issued the degree must be recognized by the MHRD in order for the degree to be counted.
- If the university gives grades or a CGPA instead of marks, the university's conversion factor must be applied. If the University does not specify a conversion factor, the CGPA must be converted to a percentage via direct conversion, which involves dividing the CGPA obtained by the greatest CGPA attainable and multiplying the result by 100.
- Candidates who have earned their professional degrees with a grade point average of at least 50% (45% for SC/ST/PwD) are also eligible to take the CAT.
Note: Candidates who are appearing for their final year in 2021 (graduating in 2021 or 2022) will be able to take the CAT 2021 if they received a promotion/pass certificate the previous year.
The required percentage of marks in the undergraduate course has been relaxed for candidates who graduated in 2020 or 2021.
Exam Pattern for CAT 2021
While the CAT 2021 Exam Format has not been formally announced, it is expected to follow the same pattern as CAT 2020. This may be deduced from the fact that the CAT 2021 Exam will include three exam windows (as stated in the CAT 2021 Notification), implying that the exam slots would be two hours long. The following is the anticipated CAT 2021 Exam Pattern.
Based on the CAT 2020 Exam Pattern, below is a descriptive overlay of the CAT 2021 Exam Pattern:
Important Module
Key Element/Elements
Test Administrator
IIM Ahmedabad
Mode of the exam
Online Computer Based
2 hours
Number of sections
Three sections
- Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension
- Data Interpretation and logical reasoning
- Quantitative Ability
Numbers of questions per section
Total 76 Questions
- VARC - 26 questions/40 minutes
- DILR -24 Questions/40 minutes
- QA - 26 Questions/40 minutes
The following is the anticipated CAT 2021 marking scheme.
The marking system for each MCQ question is +3/-1, but the TITA question has no negative marking, making the marking scheme +3/0.
Each segment has a one-hour time limit, and time is not carried over from one portion to the next.
As a result, rather than scoring well in one or two areas, the applicant must be proficient in all of them. In the same way, most of the better institutions generally have sectional cutoffs.
Because the VARC part is mostly dependent on interpretation rather than vocabulary, it does not have a set curriculum. Thus, a candidate's reading level and grammatical norms from Class X, as well as some exercise, would be sufficient to effectively prepare for the VARC part of the CAT test 2021 syllabus.
The DILR part of the CAT 2021 has no defined test curriculum, and candidates may only prepare for the DILR segment by exercising various types of sets.
Topics from the CBSE Class X syllabus are covered in the QA part, just as they are in the VARC section. The following are some of the key QA topics:
- Algebra
- Arithmetic
- Numbers
- Geometry
- Modern mathematics.